Are You Bookaholic or a Reader?

Once you pick up a book, your life is forever changed, for better but…also sometimes for worse. Addiction is common, though some merely enjoy a book as it is. Others cannot stand it and abstain from reading.

Discovering if you are a bookaholic is the first step to handling your addiction.

You can’t just read one chapter.

One chapter changes to two, two changes to three, and before you know it, it’s 5am or the sun is rising since you fell asleep with the book on your face.

You carry your book everywhere.

You can’t be without it. It’s always with you, even if you know you won’t need it.

Leaving your book at someone else’s house, in the car, or in a restaurant is THE WORST.

Now you won’t even get to read tonight and you were at the best part, weren’t you? It doesn’t matter that you’ll get it tomorrow,Β you want it RIGHT now!

You would rather read than spend a night with friends.

Of course it’s fun to be with friends, but books > people and a night reading is always better.

You ignore text messages and calls while reading.

No one calls anymore, but I included that because your mom still calls you. You would ignore your mom calling to keeping reading about Rhyyysssannnd, wouldn’t you? Don’t lie.

You buy at LEAST a book a month.

At the very least. Ten is a lot more likely.

You have a stronger crush on fictional characters than real people.

Who can blame you? I’m surprised some of us can even be in relationships with the stardards we set from books.

You cry (or nearly) when your book is ripped.

That’s your baby that just got hurt. You’re mentally yelling at yourself for being such an irresponsible parent.

Your to-be-read pile is bigger than your pile of read books.

You worry that you’ll never be able to read all of the books you want to read in your lifetime.

You turn into a fire-breathing monster when someone tries to talk to you while you’re reading.

To other people, it looks like you’re looking at words on paper, but to you, you’re in a world that you were just ripped out of. If you didn’t need to stay out of jail to stay with all of your books, they would be a dead man.

Your book-buying bans don’t actually work.

You’re broke now. But at least you’re a happy broke person.

Insulting your favorite book is like insulting you personally.

They’re no longer your friend. How dare they say something like that? How rude.

So are you a bookaholic? Don’t worry, you’re not alone. Bookstagram and book blogging are your support groups.

All you need to do is realize that you have an addiction. Then do absolutely nothing about it because you wouldn’t change your life for the world because you are a wonderful little unicorn.

Comment how much of a bookaholic you are and your other side effects of addiction to books!

19 thoughts on “Are You Bookaholic or a Reader?

    • Exactly! πŸ˜‚ Or they start snapping their fingers in front of you eyes, which is the MOST annoying thing. So tempting to say “stop snapping or I’ll snap your neck!” Dang that’s violent I’M SORRY I’M NOT NORMALLY A VIOLENT PERSON πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Bookaholic and proud! I do all these πŸ˜‚ Another thing is when I walk into a store I’m always in the book aisle first no matter what. And I’m in the library all day when I’m on break. The YA section at my library is the best! There’s restaurant style booths and bar-like counter. Best spot ever!

    Liked by 1 person

    • WHAAT?! That sounds like the best library! The one near me is nothing like that. It smells like old lady perfume and a little kid section. Definitely not as cool. And I’m the same way with being drawn to the book aisle πŸ˜‚ I did that in a thrift store recently but realized I had now ay to take twenty books home πŸ˜‡

      Liked by 1 person

      • It is! It’s the main library downtown instead of the local one which is like 10 minutes away (:'( ) which means I have to take a long bus ride but I love it so much. It’s just kind of annoying that it’s teen exclusive because every time I’m there I’m asked are you 12-18? Like, I guess that it’s a teen safe spot if that makes sense, but come on. People other than teenagers like YA. They recently moved all the YA books outside of that area so now it’s just like a lounge.
        I do that too! At thrift stores if it’s a sweater or a book I’m probably buying it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • So if you turned 19 you wouldn’t be able to go to that library even if it’s your favorite one? πŸ™„ A ton of adults read YA! I like the idea of it being a teen spot but once you’re not a teen you can’t go there anymore!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oops I phrased that wrong. No, I can go to the library, just can’t hang out in the teen section. They have other areas for adults but it’s not the same :/ Exactly! It actually makes no sense cause you can hang out in the children’s section?? But I’m not the one who makes the rules so…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG HAHAHAHAHAHA WHY HAVE I NOT READ THIS SOONER πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ everything is so relatable its actually scary πŸ˜‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Shhhh don’t let the real people know that we prefer fiction! I’ve learned they take offense to it. πŸ˜‚
      By the way thank you for checking out my blog and actually reading my posts!! You made my day! 😊 About to read yours so beware of the spam πŸ˜‰β€οΈ

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

